Open access agreement for authors at participating
Big Ten Academic Alliance institutions

Corresponding authors affiliated with participating Big Ten Academic Alliance (BTAA) member universities1 may publish open access in any of Wiley's hybrid journals (subscription-based journals that offer an open access option) or Wiley or Hindawi fully open access journals without having to pay Article Processing Charges (APCs).

Choosing to make your work open access increases its chance to be read, cited, and shared. Read more about the advantages of publishing open access here.

Publishing open access:

  • Allows you to retain copyright through a CC-BY license
  • Enables automatic deposit in PubMed Central (when appropriate)

To be eligible:

  • The
    responsible corresponding authorThe responsible corresponding author is the author who manages the manuscript and correspondence during the publication process - from submission through publication. This author has the authority to act on behalf of all the co-authors and will also be the contact for inquiries after publication.
    must be affiliated with a participating BTAA member university when the article is accepted2
  • Your article must be primary research or a review article3
  • Your manuscript must have been accepted for publication on or after 1 January 2023 in a Wiley hybrid (subscription) journal, or submitted to a Wiley or Hindawi fully open access journal on or after 1 January 2023.
  • This agreement cannot be used to cover additional charges (e.g. cover, color, and page charges), which individual journals administer separately

Open access payments made easy with your institution


Some participating BTAA member universities may have additional eligibility criteria. Please contact your university library with questions by clicking on the link below:

Indiana University - Bloomington
Indiana University - East
Indiana University - Kokomo
Indiana University - Northwest
Indiana University - South Bend
Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis

Michigan State University

Northwestern University

Pennsylvania State University

Purdue University
Purdue University Fort Wayne
Purdue University Northwest

Rutgers University

University of Chicago

University of Illinois - Chicago

University of Illinois - Urbana Champaign

University of Iowa

University of Maryland

University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
University of Michigan - Dearborn
University of Michigan - Flint

University of Minnesota - Twin Cities
University of Minnesota - Duluth
University of Minnesota - Morris
University of Minnesota - Rochester

University of Nebraska - Lincoln
University of Nebraska - Kearney
University of Nebraska - Medical
University of Nebraska - Omaha

University of Wisconsin - Madison
University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire
University of Wisconsin - Parkside
University of Wisconsin - Stevens Point
University of Wisconsin - Whitewater

1Participating BTAA members: Indiana University, Michigan State University, Northwestern University, Pennsylvania State University, Purdue University, Rutgers University, University of Chicago, University of Illinois, University of Iowa, University of Maryland, University of Michigan, University of Minnesota, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, University of Wisconsin-Madison

2Eligibility is subject to when the institution has formalized their participation in the agreement. If you are no longer affiliated with an eligible institution at the point of acceptance of your paper in a hybrid journal or submission to fully open access titles, you do not qualify.

3Other article types e.g. letters, editorials, commentaries, book reviews, book chapters etc. are excluded.